The Arundel Castle Cricket ground is a 3.5 acre amphitheatre built in 1895 by the 15th Duke of Norfolk. His son Bernard, the 16th duke, carried on the tradition and arranged cricket for players from all levels of the sport. In 1975, after Duke Bernard’s death, his widow Lavinia, Duchess of Norfolk, encouraged by family and friends, decided to keep cricket going at Arundel Castle and for this purpose the Friends of Arundel Castle Cricket Club (FACCC) was formed. The Ground is generally acknowledged to be one of the most beautiful anywhere in the world and provides a lovely setting for players and spectators alike.
Cricket at Arundel Castle will always be associated with Bernard Marmaduke Fitzalan – Howard, 16th Duke of Norfolk. It was he who, in organising matches between the 1930’s and the 1970’s created the unique blend between country house cricket and the game at near first class level.
In 1986 the charitable arm, the Arundel Castle Cricket Foundation was formed. And in 1989, through the great generosity of the late Sir Paul Getty, building work began on an Indoor Cricket School at the Arundel Castle ground. This was completed in 1990 and formally opened on August 2nd 1991 by H.R.H. The Prince of Wales. Since then many hundreds of young people have benefitted from the outstanding facilities.
1895 – Ground built by 15th Duke of Norfolk
1975 – Friends of Arundel Castle Cricket Club formed
1986 – Arundel Castle Cricket Foundation formed
1991 – H.R.H. The Prince of Wales opened Indoor Cricket School
2012 – FACCC became a Limited Company